Firedance (Woolfenden)

From Wind Repertory Project
Guy Woolfenden

Guy Woolfenden

General Info

Year: 2000 / 2003
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Ariel Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $140.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Side Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Firedance was commissioned by Warwick Castle for one of its celebrated annual fireworks concerts at the Warwick and Leamington Festival. The first performance was given by the Philharmonia Orchestra conducted by Martyn Brabbins on July 1st 2000. Keith Allen, musical director of Birmingham Symphonic Winds, heard the piece at Warwick Castle, and commissioned a new arrangement for BSW’s 10th anniversary concert on 16th November 2002 at the CBSO Centre, Birmingham, when it was conducted by the composer.

Firedance starts with jagged rhythms in a minor tonality, and apart from a final accelerando, keeps the same pulse for its near ten-minute span, becoming gradually more celebratory, major-key and melodic.

This new version for concert band is dedicated to all members of Birmingham Symphonic Winds with great affection.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer


  • Woolfenden, G. (2002). Firedance [score]. Ariel Music: Banbury.