Finnish Folk Song Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Jan Van der Roost

Jan Van der Roost

General Info

Year: 2001
Duration: c. 7:45
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: De Haske
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $172.00   |   Score Only (print) - $33.00


  • Full Score
  • C Piccolo
  • Flute I-II
  • Oboe I-II
  • Bassoon I-II
  • E-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
  • E-flat Alto Clarinet
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
  • Horn in F I-II-III
  • Trombone I-II-III
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Contra-Bass
  • Timpani
  • Percussion I-II-III, including:
*Bass Drum
*Sleigh Bells
*Snare Drum
*Suspended Cymbal
*Tom-tom (small)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Four authentic folk tunes of Finland are joined together here without pause in this highly effective setting. The purity of the folk tunes is respected throughout, with lovely tone colors enhancing each tune. From meditative melodies to cheerful folk dances, this attractive suite offers interest throughout.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the "Finlands Svenska sang-och musikförbund."

Dedicated to Håkan Hesthammer.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Iowa: IV
  • Tennessee: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer