From Wind Repertory Project
Nathan Daughtrey

Nathan Daughtrey

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $40.00


Full Score
Percussion (8 players), including:

  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Concert Tom (4)
  • Hi-Hat
  • Kick Drum
  • Marimba (2)
  • Shakers
  • Snare Drum
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Timpani
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Featuring a balanced ensemble of four keyboard and four battery percussionists, Fidget borrows a rhythm from the agogo bell and cowbell part in Daughtrey's popular percussion quintet Shock Factor. Portions of this motive appears throughout the piece, sometimes as the focal point and sometimes as an accompanying figure. The piece features driving rhythms and memorable melodies from beginning to end.

- Program Note from publisher

While the rhythm is only fleeting in the original work, it has stuck with the composer since he wrote the piece 10 years ago. Set in 4/4 time, it has a twitchy/fidgety/stuttering feel that starts and restarts, stumbling over itself in its brief two-bar duration.

- Program Note from Creek Valley Middle School Honor Winds concert program, 16 December 2016

Commissioned by a consortium of high schools organized by Wayne Lu of South Hardin High School (Iowa).

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Texas: Percussion ensemble I


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Daughtrey, N. (2015). Fidget [score]. C. Alan Publications: Greensboro, N.C.