Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Feierlicher Einzug der Ritter des Johanniter-Ordens

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Richard Strauss

Richard Strauss (trans. Charles R. Spinney)

Subtitle: Solemn Entry

General Info

Year: 1909 / 2007
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: III
Original Medium: Brass ensemble
Publisher: Alfred Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
B-flat Trumpet (15)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In English, the title of this work is "Fanfare for the Solemn Procession of the Knights of the Order of St. John." It was composed in 1909 at the request of that society, which was founded in Jerusalem during the first crusade. Originally written for brass ensemble, Strauss later scored it for full orchestra.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

Strauss was already a well-known conductor and composer when he wrote Feierlicher Einzug der Ritter des Johanniter-Ordens (Solemn Entrance of the Knights of the Order of Saint John) in 1909. One of only a handful of his works written exclusively for winds, Strauss’s powerful, majestic Feierlicher Einzug is scored for 15 trumpets, 4 horns, 4 trombones, 2 tubas, and timpani. It was composed for the investiture ceremonies of the Order of St. John, a Western Christian military order that was founded in Jerusalem in 1023 to care for poor, sick, or injured pilgrims journeying to the Holy Land.

- Program Note from Northwestern University Symphonic Wind Ensemble concert program, 9 June 2019

The piece begins and continues for some time in B-flat before finding its home key of E-flat. This striking work begins with deep calls in the brass almost Brucknerian in their simplicity and power. The growth and cumulative strength allied to the delay in established the home key make this brief piece a remarkable example of Strauss's subtle art.

- Program Note from University of Texas Wind Ensemble concert program, 27 March 2009


State Ratings

  • Arkansas: III
  • Louisiana: III


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer