Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Feierlicher Einzug (ed. Villanueva)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Richard Strauss

Richard Strauss (ed. Jari Villanueva)

General Info

Year: 1909 /
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass choir
Publisher: JV Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $30.00


Full Score
E-flat Trumpet
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Bass Trombone
Tuba I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In English, the title of this work is "Fanfare for the Solemn Procession of the Knights of the Order of St. John." It was composed in 1909 at the request of that society, which was founded in Jerusalem during the first crusade. Originally written for brass ensemble, Strauss later scored it for full orchestra.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

Strauss was already a well-known conductor and composer when he wrote Feierlicher Einzug der Ritter des Johanniter-Ordens (Solemn Entrance of the Knights of the Order of Saint John) in 1909. One of only a handful of his works written exclusively for winds, Strauss’s powerful, majestic Feierlicher Einzug is scored for 15 trumpets, 4 horns, 4 trombones, 2 tubas, and timpani. It was composed for the investiture ceremonies of the Order of St. John, a Western Christian military order that was founded in Jerusalem in 1023 to care for poor, sick, or injured pilgrims journeying to the Holy Land.

- Program Note from Northwestern University Symphonic Wind Ensemble concert program, 9 June 2019

Feierlicher Einzug (Festival Procession) was written by Richard Strauss in 1909. The occasion was an investiture ceremony for the Knights of St. John, a fraternal organization with roots going back as far as the 11th century. Today, offshoots of this venerable order still exist, doing charitable works–primarily in aiding the poor and the sick–around the world.

The original scoring of this piece included parts for 15 trumpets, 4 horns, 4 trombones, 2 tubas, and timpani. Strauss later scored the work for full orchestra, including organ and optional chorus. An arrangement by Max Reger (1873-1916) for organ, 2 trombones, and timpani is still frequently performed today.

This edition, edited by Jari Villanueva uses B-flat trumpets and F horns.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • United States Air Force Band of the West (San Antonio, Tx.) (Dustin M. Doyle, conductor) - 21 July 2022
  • New England Conservatory (Boston, Mass.) Brass Ensemble - 9 May 2021
  • Texas Christian University (Fort Worth) Wind Symphony (Brian Youngblood, conductor) - 13 February 2020 (2020 TMEA Conference, San Antonio)
  • Texas Christian University (Fort Worth) Wind Symphony (Bobby R. Francis, conductor) – 11 February 2020
  • Texas Christian University (Fort Worth) Wind Symphony (Bobby R. Francis, conductor) – 25 November 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Jari Villanueva, personal correspondence, January 2020