Feierlicher Einzug (arr. Johnson)

From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Strauss

Richard Strauss (arr. William V. Johnson)

General Info

Year: 1909 / 2022
Duration: c. 7:05
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass choir
Publisher: William V. Johnson
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $20.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum

Off-stage Trumpets
Off-stage Trombones


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In English, the title of this work is "Fanfare for the Solemn Procession of the Knights of the Order of St. John." It was composed in 1909 at the request of that society, which was founded in Jerusalem during the first crusade. Originally written for brass ensemble, Strauss later scored it for full orchestra.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

Strauss was already a well-known conductor and composer when he wrote Feierlicher Einzug der Ritter des Johanniter-Ordens (Solemn Entrance of the Knights of the Order of Saint John) in 1909. One of only a handful of his works written exclusively for winds, Strauss’s powerful, majestic Feierlicher Einzug is scored for 15 trumpets, 4 horns, 4 trombones, 2 tubas, and timpani. It was composed for the investiture ceremonies of the Order of St. John, a Western Christian military order that was founded in Jerusalem in 1023 to care for poor, sick, or injured pilgrims journeying to the Holy Land.

- Program Note from Northwestern University Symphonic Wind Ensemble concert program, 9 June 2019

Feierlicher Einzug (Solemn Entry) is an original work for 25-part brass choir with timpani. This arrangement is for full wind ensemble, organ and antiphonal trumpets and trombones. Strauss left a great musical legacy which had a profound influence on the development of 20thcentury music.

- Program Note from William V. Johnson


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer