Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Fanfare: Generation Next

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Zachary Cairns

Zachary Cairns

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 2:40
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $65.00; (digital) - $65.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.50


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Fanfare: Generation Next was written in honor of retiring director of bands at Camp Hill Senior High School Mr. Dean Zirkle.

- Program Note from publisher

Designed in two large contrasting sections, this dedicatory work begins dramatically and marked "Triumphant and majestic," while the quicker concluding section is marked "Allegro molto." This second section contains two brief but important trumpet solos. Melodically, this work is built upon two four-note renderings of the name "Dean," the first name of the individual for whom the work was dedicated. The composer explains, "I have chosen to use a neighbor tone to finish off the name." Thus the two melodic motives become: D-E-A-Bb and D-E-A-G#. These ideas appear throughout the work in various transformations.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist 74.4 (November 2019): 26. Print
  • Perusal score