Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Fábio Cachão

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Fábio Cachão


Fábio Cachão (b. 1992, Barreiro, Portugal) is a Portuguese composer.

Cachão began his musical studies at Escola de Música do Conservatório Nacional with Fernando Lobo (Guitar) and Eurico Carrapatoso (Composition). He later enrolled at Escola de Jazz Luiz Villas-Boas (Hot Club Portugal) studying with Nuno Costa and Joel Silva.

Fábio Cachão completed his degree in composition in 2015 at the Escola Superior de Música de Lisboa (ESML), where he worked with António Pinho Vargas, Sérgio Azevedo, Luís Tinoco, Carlos Caires, Carlos Marecos, Roberto Pérez, among others.

As a young composer, recent works include Intermitências (2015) – premiered by the Gulbenkian Orchestra and awarded with Prémio de Composição SPA/Antena 2; Díptico para um oceano (2015) – premiered by the Portuguese Symphony Band at Casa da Música; Five Fragments of Light (2014) – premiered by the Coro Ricercare; Where the Light Is (2014) – premiered by the Silva Dionísio Wind Camerata.

Fábio Cachão is currently completing a Masters in Music Education at the Escola Superior de Música de Lisboa. In 2017 he became Professor of theory and musical analysis and " Física do Som" at Canto Firme de Tomar.

Works for Winds