Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Ewald Quintet No 3

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Victor Ewald

Victor Ewald (ed. Tony Rickard)

This work bears the designation Opus 7.

General Info

Year: 1912
Duration: c. 20:00
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Canadian Brass Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $30.00


1. Allegro Moderato – 5:30
2. Intermezzo – 4:35
3. Andante – 3:50
4. Vivo – 3:50


Full Score
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

There has always been some confusion amongst brass players about the accuracy of the available editions of Victor Ewald's unique brass compositions. We asked our learned colleague Tony Rickard to create editions that take advantage of modern analysis, comparison and research. We feel Tony has made a significant contribution to the brass quintet world by kneeling into this project and producing what we feel are the most precise versions of these core repertoire works for brass quintet. Tony is a trumpet player by training, Royal Academy of Music, London, England graduate, a highly respected copyist and engraver, and was recently appointed Music Library Manager for the Royal Opera House at Covent Garden in London!

Quintet no. 3 in D flat major (Op. 7) was composed about 1912.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer