Evening Glow

From Wind Repertory Project
Eric Nathan

Eric Nathan

Subtitle: From Autumn Triptych

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 6:35
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Nathan Arts Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Rental   |   Score Only (print) - $60.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Brake Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crotales
  • Flexitone
  • Glockenspiel
  • Ratchet
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Evening Glow is the second movement of Nathan's Autumn Triptych. It received its premiere by the Cornell University Wind Ensemble, Eric Nathan, conductor, in November 2010.

Evening Glow is inspired by a painting of the same name by nineteenth-century British painter John Atkinson Grimshaw. I was immediately captivated by the peaceful, yet sorrowfully longing, quality of the painting when I saw it during a visit to the Yale Center for British Art (where it resides in the Paul Mellon Collection). The painting shows a woman standing alone, looking down a winding road during the dusk of a fall evening. As the road recedes into the distance, the entire painting fades away into the golden glow of the autumn sunset.

I saw the road as a metaphor for time and for age. My piece puts two motifs in conflict with each other: the motif of the persistence of time with that of life. The two are in constant struggle over the course of the piece, until a chorale melody breaks through at the end, suspending the moment of Grimshaw’s autumn sunset, if only briefly, before allowing time to take over once again.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer