Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

English Dances Set 2 (trans. Thompson)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Malcolm Arnold

Malcolm Arnold (trans. Ray Thompson)

General Info

Year: 1951
Duration: c. 10:00
Original Medium: Orchestra
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ray Thompson Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $24.95


1. Allegro non troppo
2. Con brio
3. Grazioso
4. Giubiloso - lento e maestoso


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Bassoon I-II
Horn in F I-II
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

English Dances, Op. 27 and 33, are two sets of light music pieces, composed for orchestra by Malcolm Arnold in 1950 and 1951. Each set consists of four dances inspired by, although not based upon, country folk tunes and dances. Each movement is denoted by the tempo marking, as the individual movements are untitled.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Atlanta (Ga.) Youth Wind Symphony (Scott A. Stewart, conductor) - 25 March 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer