End of Knowing, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Beaser

Robert Beaser

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 29:05
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Schott Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental


1. Follower - 4:30
2. Slumber Song - 2:50
3. A Martial Law Carol - 4:55
4. A Dream - 3:05
5. Tichborne's Elegy - 5:00
6. An Experiment - 5:15
7. A Flower - 3:10


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II (II double alto flute)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium (Bass Clef & Treble Clef) I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-VII, including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Cabasa
  • China Cymbals
  • Conga
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales (full chromatic set)
  • Field Drum
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Flexitone
  • Glockenspiel
  • Guiro
  • Hi-Hat
  • Log Drums
  • Maracas
  • Marimba
  • Nipple Gongs
  • Police Whistle
  • Ratchet
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Shakers
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Slapstick
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Slide Whistle
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tenor Drum
  • Thunder Sheet
  • Tibetan Singing Bowl
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibra-slap
  • Wind Chimes, wood and metal
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The End of Knowing is a song-symphony for soprano, baritone and wind ensemble, commissioned by a consortium of 27 bands across the United States. The work is a dramatic meditation on the nexus of religion, politics and the fragile human condition. It uses seven diverse poems as a basis.

The poems used are: “Follower” by Seamus Heaney (1939-2013); “Slumber Song of the Madonna” by Alfred Noyes (1880-1958); “A Flower Given to My Daughter” by James Joyce (1882-1941); “A Martial Law Carol” by Joseph Brodsky (1940-1996); “A Dream” by Gjertrud Schnackenberg (b. 1953); “Tichborne’s Elegy” by Chidiock Tichborne (1562-1586); and “An Experiment” by Theodore Worozbyt (b. 1960).

The work received its world premiere on September 25, 2014 by the Michigan State University Wind Symphony, Kevin Sedatole conducting, with Lindsay Kesselman and Benjamin Park as soloists.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.