Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jonathan Dagenais

Jonathan Dagenais

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 10:40
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Eighth Note Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $105.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Encircled puts recurring rhythmic passages in the foreground, reminding us of traditional military music. These passages are always enveloped in more modern sonorities and harmonies in order to combine tradition and modernity. Right from the first notes, we can hear the melodic/rhythmic motif which will serve as the main musical material throughout the whole work. With cadenzas, flowing lyrical writing and powerful rhythmic drive, this is an exciting and dramatic work.

- Program Note from publisher

The Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu Concert Band Circle of Quebec providence commissioned this work to celebrate their 125th anniversary. Because the Circle was originally a military band, the composer has enveloped traditional military fanfares and sounds within modern sonorities.

-Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Rouge River Winds (Toronto, Ont. Can.) (Pratik Gandhi, conductor) – 15 June 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Dagenais, J. (2016). Encircled [score]. Eighth Note Publications: Markham, Ont. Can.
  • Jonathan Dagenais website Accessed 2 September 2019
  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist, 72/3 (October, 2017), p. 75.
  • Perusal score