Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Eloi, Eloi

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Kevin Walczyk

Kevin Walczyk

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 5:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Solo Flute I
Flute II-II (II is Alto Flute)
Oboe I
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Sopranino Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Tam-Tam (medium and large)
  • Triangle (small and medium)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Eloi, Eloi was composed for conductor Ray E. Cramer and the Musashino Academia Musicae Wind Ensemble. The work's expression is not programmatic. It is intended as a simple prayer that pays tribute to and is in remembrance of the March 11, 2011, Japanese earthquake and tsunami victims. The title is drawn from Psalm 22:1, Matthew 27:46, and Mark 15:34 and states (in Arabic), "Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?" and translates to, "My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?" The work was later adapted as the opening movement to the composer's Cantata, Drifting Gently Through Endless Beauty.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Eaddy, Jr., Jack A. "Eloi Eloi." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 11, Compiled and edited by Richard Miles, 535-541. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2018.
  • Keveli Music Accessed 19 April 2016
  • Perusal score