El Taco Picante

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Sheldon

Robert Sheldon

This work bears the designation Opus 212.

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 1:40
Difficulty: I-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $49.00; (digital) - $49.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Percussion (5 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Cowbell
  • Guiro
  • Maracas
  • Marimba

Players clapping


In Score:

  • The listed opus number of 211 is incorrect. This work is actually Opus 212.

Program Notes

A catchy Latin bass riff sets off some hot rhythms in a simmering tune that shifts from minor to major.

- Program Note from publisher

Robert Sheldon takes us south of the border with this delightful selection for young band. El Taco Picante uses catchy Latin rhythms, bass riffs, and a melody that shifts from minor to major to capture the spirit of a fiesta.

- Program Note from Colleyville Middle School Honors Band concert program, 19 December 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works