Easter Sunrise

From Wind Repertory Project
Joel Blahnik

Joel Blahnik

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 17:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alliance Publications
Cost: Score & Parts - $85.00   |   Score Only - $20.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
French Horn I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (Tam-Tam?)
  • Timpani
  • Tubular Bells


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Easter Sunrise , is based upon the Latin Sequence "Victimae Paschali" from the Gregorian Mode I. This eight movement Easter suite can be considered a mini-Easter symphony. Each movement is based on the "Victimae Paschali" sequence. Within the composition, there are many representations of the Triduum experience (i.e. the liturgical celebration of the Paschal Mystery of Christ from Holy Thursday, good Friday and Holy Saturday Easter Vigil).

Program Note from Published Score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.