From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

Subtitle: An Overture for Symphonic Band

This work bears the designation Opus 49.

General Info

Year: 1984
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $175.00   |   Score Only - $25.00   |   Condensed Score - $16.00


Full Score
Condensed Score
C Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibraslap
  • Wind Chimes (metal)
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This overture opens with the Walt Whitman quote, "Skyward in air a muffled sound, the dalliance of the eagle..."

It was commissioned by the Explorer Wind Symphony, Explorer Post 934, Manchester, New Hampshire, T.J. Rand, Conductor.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Arkansas: IV
  • North Carolina: VI
  • New York: IV
  • Oklahoma: IV
  • South Carolina: IV
  • Tennessee: V
  • Virginia: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Barnes, J. (1984). Eaglecrest [score]. Southern Music Co.: San Antonio, Tx.