Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Dunkler Herbst

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Manfred Menke

Manfred Menke

Subtitle: Quintett für Glockenspiel, Vibraphon & 3 Marimba

The title and subtitle of this work translate from the German as Dark Autumn (Quintet for Glockenspiel, Vibraphone & 3 Marimbas).

General Info

Year: 2001 / 2002
Duration: c. 3:05
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manfred Menke
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €14.20


Full Score
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V (5 players), including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba I-II-III
  • vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The piece, a quintet for glockenspiel, vibraphone and three marimba, was written shortly after September 11, 2001, and is nothing more than my musical commentary, which extends over a little more than three minutes of memory.

The music reflects the mood after the attack on the Twin Towers of New York, which is probably the same everywhere in the world when war was played somewhere again...

Such events are, regardless of where they happen, fundamentally shocking, and ti was during the time immediately after this attack in New York that this piece was created, a piece that still reminds me of the past. This is a sensitive piece of music from a rough time.

- Program Note by composer (rendered from the German by DeepL logo Translator)


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Manfred Menke website Accessed 6 August 2021
  • Menke, M. (2002). Dunkler Herbst = Dark autumn : Quintett für Glockenspiel, Vibraphon & 3 Marimba [score]. Manfred Menke: [Germany].
  • Perusal score