Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert W. Smith

Robert W Smith

This work is the second movement of the composer's Symphony No. 3, Don Quixote.

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Mark Tree
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone (4.0 octaves)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Symphony No. 3 "Don Quixote" is based on the Cervantes literary classic of the same name. The second of four movements in Robert W. Smith's epic work, Dulcinea tells the tale of Don Quixote's adoration of the ideal woman. Written in a sultry 5/4 tango, the audience will hear the haunting melody and feel the passion of Cervantes' knight-errant as he proclaims his love for Dulcinea de Tobosa. Featuring an English horn solo, the initial melody gives way to the most powerful of statements before returning to the tango in a quiet, yet startling ending.

- Program Note from publisher

Premiered by and dedicated to Aguapació Artistica Musical de Dénia of Spain, Frank De Vuyst, conductor.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Mississippi (Oxford) Symphonic Band (Randy Dale, conductor) – 22 April 2021
  • Whitman College (Walla Walla, Wash.) Wind Ensemble (Gary Gemberling, conductor) – 21 April 2019
  • Parkland College (Champaign, Ill.) Concert Band (Larry Stoner, conductor) – 20 April 2017
  • Austin (Texas) Civic Wind Ensemble (Robert Laguna, conductor) – 6 May 2016
  • Sonora Orchestra Tremelo (Belgium) – 2010

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Robert W. Smith website Accessed 6 September 2021
  • Smith, R.; Cervantes, M. (2008). Dulcinea : From Symphony No. 3, Don Quixote [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.