Dream, Imagine, Live

From Wind Repertory Project
Larry Clark

Larry Clark

Subtitle: Thoreau's Vision

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00; (digital) - 95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00

Movements (played without pause)

1. Dream
2. Imagine
3. Live


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The title is a reference to a quote by American author and philosopher Henry David Thoreau (1817-1862): “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you’ve imagined.”

Constructed as a three-movement suite played without pause, the thematic material for each movement is built upon the same four-note motive: C, D, F, C. The bold and aggressive “Dream” movement is marked “Allegro vivo.” The slower more cantabile “Imagine” movement marked “Expressive” highlights a lyrical trumpet solo, while the concluding “Live” movement is in the style of a jig. Near the end, the thematic material from the second movement is superimposed over the jig, bringing the work to an exhilarating coda and conclusion.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist

Commissioned by the 2014 Thoreau Symphonic Band, Vienna, Virginia, Katrina Davilis Chaney, Director

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Alabama: 2015-16 Additions BB


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • New Jersey (Oakland) Concert Band (Michael Roth, conductor) – 6 May 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist 70.1 (2015): 56. Print