Dos Danzas Latinas (Galbraith)

From Wind Repertory Project
Nancy Galbraith

Nancy Galbraith

Subtitle: For Woodwind Octet

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 10:45
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Subito Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $50.00


1. Habanera
2. Samba - 4:30


Full Score
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Horn in F I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Galbraith's Habanera and Samba combine to create Dos Danzas Latinas, an elegantly seductive concert work that was premiered in February 2002 at the Centro National de las Artes in Mexico City. The woodwind octet, in two movements, was commissioned by Mexico’s Sinfonietta Ventus as part of a series of grants awarded to eleven composers.

The concept for these commissions fell loosely into the category of "a Sunday afternoon in the park" where symphonic bands or marimba bands might be found playing arrangements of a variety of classical and popular dance forms. The composers were encouraged to suggest the flavor and rhythms of these dances in a freer style, rather than adhere strictly to form.

- Program Note from University of Miami Frost Wind Ensemble concert program, 22 November 2020


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Ball State University (Muncie, Ind.) Wind Symphony (Caroline Hand, conductor) - 9 March 2021
  • University of Miami (Fla.) Frost Wind Ensemble (Roy McLerran, conductor) - 22 November 2020
  • Sinfonietta Ventus (Mexico City, Mex.) (Jesus Medina, conductor ) – 8 February 2002 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Galbraith, N. (2002). Dos Danzas Latinas : For Woodwind Octet [Oboes, Clarinets, Horns, Bassoons] [score]. Subito Music: [Verona, N.J.].
  • Nancy Galbraith website Accessed 22 November 2020