Distorted Images: A Jazzman's Nightmare

From Wind Repertory Project
Andrew Boysen, Jr.

Andrew Boysen, Jr.

General Info

Year: 1989
Duration: c. 9:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil A Kjos Music - Official Website
Cost: Score & Parts - $100.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
English Horn
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II (I doubles Soprano Saxophone)
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
French Horn I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Drum Set
  • Flexatone
  • Marimba
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Distorted Images: A Jazzman's Nightmare was composed in 1989 for the University of Iowa Symphony Band. The piece is programmatic, but only through general images. It tells the story of the dreams of a jazzman and the subsequent distortion of those dreams as they turn into a nightmare. The piece uses both "swing" and "straight" playing from members of the ensemble, sometimes alternating between the two and sometimes sounding simultaneously. Other jazz elements in the piece include improvisation from members of the group and the use of a drum set.

Program Note from Published Score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer