Diffusion for Saxophone Quartet

From Wind Repertory Project
Gordon Goodwin

Gordon Goodwin

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 12:15
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00; (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $11.00; (digital) - $11.00


1. Allegro
2. Waltz
3. Swing
4. Hip Hop


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Goodwin composed Diffusion in four movements. The first two are classical in nature and the last two jazz-oriented and contain improvised sections.

- Program Note from Cleveland Winds Neo-Tessares Saxophone Quartet concert program, 21 March 2021

The saxophone quartet is one of the most expressive chamber groups for a composer to write for, and I hope Diffusion exposes the wide and versatile sounds and stylistic range potential of the saxophone quartet. An open mind, good technique in both jazz and classicals styles along with a flexible approach is needed to perform all four of the movements.

- Program Note by composer

Commissioned by Miles Osland and the Osland Saxophone Quartet.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Indiana: 032 - SAXOPHONE QUARTETS


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Goodwin, G. (2006). Diffusion for Saxophone Quartet [score]. Wingood Music Productions: [s.l.].
  • Perusal score