Die Fledermaus

From Wind Repertory Project
Johann Strauss Jr

Johann Strauss Jr (arr. Eiji Suzuki)

Subtitle: Selections from the Operetta

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 7:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo/Brain Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $115.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III (I doubling Fugelhorn)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A practical joke. A secret rendezvous. And an elaborate plan for revenge leading to an evening of mistaken identities, flirtations, and light-hearted deceit highlight Johann Strauss’ most celebrated operetta, Die Fledermaus. Set at a gala ball in 19th-century Vienna, the score is filled with effervescent melodies and lilting waltzes. In his inimitable style, Eiji Suzuki has captured the best in an accelerating collage of color and motion building to an electrifying finale.

- Program Note by the Kagoshima Joho High School Wind Orchestra concert program, 19 December 2013


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


None discovered thus far.