Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Derek M Jenkins

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Derek M Jenkins


Derek M. Jenkins (b. 1986, Frankfurt am Main, Germany) is an American composer and musicologist, whose music has been performed throughout the United States, Europe, and Canada by ensembles and performers including the Dubuque Symphony Orchestra; the Fountain City Brass Band; the Seattle Wind Symphony; the U.S. Army Materiel Command Band; university bands and wind ensembles in Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, Tennessee, and Texas; the Youth Symphony of Kansas City Symphony Orchestra; Mid America Freedom Band; Tri-State Wind Symphony; the Carinthia, Joseph Wytko, and Saxophilia Saxophone Quartets; Washington Square Winds; Musica Nova; and saxophonists Randall Hall, Gilbert Sabitzer, Michael Shults, and Joseph Wytko.

Jenkins's piece, We Seven, won the 2016 American Prize in Composition and in 2012, his piece, Eosphorus: The Morning Star, was selected as a winner of the National Band Association's Young Composer Mentor Project. Jenkins has received additional recognition from MMTA/MTNA, Red Note New Music Festival, MACRO, the UMKC Conservatory, the UMKC School of Graduate Studies, ASCAP, the Harry S. Truman Good Neighbor Award Foundation, and at conferences and festivals across the U.S. and abroad. Recent commissions have come from the Dubuque Symphony Orchestra, the Missouri Music Teachers Association and the Music Teachers National Association, the Mid America Freedom Band, the University of Tennessee at Martin Wind Ensemble, the University of Missouri-Kansas City Wind Ensemble, the Bethel College Wind Ensemble, the Youth Symphony of Kansas City, the University of Missouri-Kansas City Saxophone Ensemble, and various individuals throughout the country.

In addition to his work as a composer, Jenkins is actively researching the history and literature of the wind band and the history of orchestration. Currently, he is investigating the 1921 Iowa Band Law (H.F. 479) and its continued use in supporting municipal bands in Iowa today.

This fall, Jenkins will begin working as Assistant Professor of Music Theory and Composition at Arkansas State University, and he holds degrees from the University of Missouri-Kansas City (DMA Composition, MM Musicology, 2017; BM Composition, BM Theory, 2010) and Rice University (MM Composition, 2013). Additionally, he has received further instruction at the Kärntner Landeskonservatorium and the Alpen-Adria Universität Klagenfurt. Beyond music, he was a Preparing Future Faculty Fellow at UMKC where he earned a Graduate Certificate in College Teaching and Career Preparation, and he briefly studied mathematics at Loras College.

His primary composition teachers have included James Mobberley, Karim Al-Zand, Chen Yi, Pierre Jalbert, Richard Lavenda, Paul Rudy, and Zhou Long, and his primary musicology advisors include S. Andrew Granade and William Everett. He has also studied with Amy Dunker, Peter Graham, and Alfred Stingl.

Jenkins is a member of the Pi Kappa Lambda National Music Honor Society; the National Band Association; the College Music Society; the Society for American Music; the Society of Composers, Inc.; and ASCAP. His music is available through Veritas Musica Publishing and under his own imprint, Mühltal Musikpresse.​

In his spare time, Jenkins is an amateur scuba diver and daydreams of becoming an astronaut.

Works for Winds

Adaptable Music

  • Fountains (Adaptable Band) (2014/2020)
  • Kolo (Flex instrumentation) (2015/2020)
  • Solar Flare (Flex instrumentation) (2019/2020)

All Wind Works