Day in Valencia, A

From Wind Repertory Project
Gregory Fritze

Gregory Fritze

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 26:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Musica Nova USA
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


  1. Sunrise over the Mediterranean / Salida del Sol sobre el Mediterráneo
  2. Workday / Día de Trabajo
  3. An Early Evening Walk / Un Paseo por la Tarde
  4. Late Night at a Fiesta / Noche de Fiesta


  • Full Score
  • C Piccolo
  • Flute I-II
  • Alto Flute
  • Oboe I-II
  • English Horn
  • Bassoon I-II
  • Contra-Bassoon
  • E-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet Principal-I-II-III
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
  • B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
  • B-flat Soprano Saxophone
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Bass Saxophone
  • Flugelhorn
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
  • Horn in F I-II-III-IV
  • Trombone I-II
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium I-II
  • Tuba I-II
  • Contra-Bass
  • Harp I-II
  • Celesta
  • Timpani
  • Percussion I-VII, including:
*Bass Drum
*Crash Cymbals
*Orchestra Bells
*Root Toms
*Snare Drum
*Spring Drum
*Suspended Cymbal
*Tenor Drums (4)
*Water Gong
*Wind Chimes
*Wood Block



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A Day in Valencia was commissioned by the Primitiva de Llíria for the 2011 Certamen of Bands in Valencia. It is a symphonic poem for large symphonic band in four movements. It is programmatic as it suggests a twenty-four-hour period in Valencia.

The first movement, Sunrise Over the Mediterranean, shows the sun coming up over the Mediterranean Sea which I think is the most wonderful, picturesque way to wake up in the world, with the colors of the sun changing bit by bit, minute by minute until there is a sudden burst of the sun from above the water. The second movement, Workday, depicts the five parts of a typical Valencian workday. The first part of this movement is subtitled Work to Live, which is a common phrase that I have heard from many Valencians. I have noticed that Valencians work very hard at their work and with great pride, no matter what the work is. In the late morning there is an almuerzo when work stops for something to eat, often with good friends. I titled this section Laughing with Friends at Almuerzo.. After almuerzo it is time to go back to work, and the work theme reappears.

The next section is Lunch with the Family. I am always impressed with how serious Valencians are about spending time with their family members as this is a special time of the day. After la comida it is back to work again until sundown. After sundown, the third movement, An Early Evening Walk, offers a time of contemplation. When Primitiva Conductor Miguel Moreno asked me to compose this piece he asked that one movement be dedicated to Harvey Phillips, who was one of the greatest tuba players to have ever lived and was the tuba teacher of Miguel and myself. He passed away as I was writing this movement as noted by a quote from his favorite chorale of J. S. Bach, Come Sweet Death.

The fourth movement, Late Night at a Fiesta, is very jubilant and happy, continuing all through the night, and ending when the burst of sunlight returns again for the beginning of another day. Influences heard in this piece are by Ravel, Berg, Stravinsky and Bach.

- Program Note by composer

Composed especially for the Banda Primitiva de Llíria, Salvador Navarro Martínez, Presidente, Miguel Moreno Guna, Director Titular - Llíria (Valencia), Spain

- Program Note from score


  • Valencia Certamen of Bands 2011, First Prize


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer