Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

David Holsinger

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Holsinger


David R. Holsinger (b. 26 December 1945, Hardin, Mo.) is an American composer, conductor, arranger and educator.

Prof. Holsinger, twice the recipient of the prestigious Ostwald Composition Prize of the American Bandmasters Association, was educated at Central Methodist College, Fayette, Missouri, Central Missouri State University, Warrensburg, and the University of Kansas, Lawrence. His primary composition study has been with Donald Bohlen at Central Missouri State and Charles Hoag at the University of Kansas.

In 1999, following 15 years of service as music minister, worship leader, and composer in residence to Shady Grove Church in Grand Prairie, Texas, composer/conductor Holsinger joined the School of Music faculty at Lee University, Cleveland, Tennessee, as conductor of the Lee University Wind Ensemble. Holsinger’s duties include teaching advanced instrumental conducting and composition.

Prof. Holsinger is an elected member of the American Bandmasters Association. The April 1999 issue of The Instrumentalist magazine, the world’s leading publication in its genre, contains an interview with the composer, along with two accompanying articles concerning Holsinger’s compositions. Over the past several years, Holsinger has been named a National Patron of Delta Omicron Music Fraternity, awarded the Distinguished Music Alumni Award from Central Missouri State University, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia’s Orpheus Award, as well as honorary memberships in Kappa Kappa Psi National Music Fraternity and the Women’s National Band Directors Association. During festivities surrounding the premiere of the composer’s The Easter Symphony, Holsinger was honored by Gustavus Adolphus College with the awarding of an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters for lifetime achievement in composition and presented the Gustavus Fine Arts Medallion, the division’s highest award, designed and sculpted by renowned artist, Paul Granlund. Holsinger was the fourth composer honored with this medal and joins a distinguished roster which includes Gunther Schuller, Jan Bender, Csaba Deak, and most recent recipient, Libby Larsen.

Over the past ten years, Holsinger served as Visiting Composer in Residence at eleven American colleges or universities, and held the Acuff Chair of Excellence in the Creative Arts at Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, Tennessee. In 1999, the Christian Instrumental Directors Association awarded Holsinger its “Director of the Year” citation. The composer was also honored with biographical inclusion in The Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music, Vol. I and III, and in Norman Smith’s Program Notes for Band.

Holsinger's compositions have received kudos in several national competitions. He won the National Federation of Music Clubs Band Composition Contest in 1970. In 1971, The War Trilogy was awarded first place in the Kent State University Band Composition Contest. Liturgical Dances was first runner-up in both the 1981 NBA-DeMoulin and ABA-Ostwald competitions. In 1982, the ABA-Ostwald prize was awarded to Holsinger's The Armies of Omnipresent Otserf. In 1986, Holsinger's The Deathtree was a finalist in both the NBA-DeMoulin and the Sudler International Competition. His composition, In the Springs at the Time When Kings Go off to War won the 1986 ABA-Ostwald Prize.

Works for Winds