Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

David Bruce

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Bruce


David Bruce (b. 1970, Stamford, Conn.) is an American-born British composer.

Dr. Bruce began his undergraduate music studies in 1988 at the University of Nottingham, where his composition tutors included Jim Fulkerson and Nicholas Sackman. He continued at the Royal College of Music from 1991 to 1993, where he obtained a master's degree in composition, studying with Timothy Salter and George Benjamin. He received a Ph.D. in composition at King's College London between 1995 and 1999, under the supervision of Harrison Birtwistle.

Bruce's work is performed by musicians from around the world, including soprano Dawn Upshaw, klezmer pioneer Giora Feidman and the St. Lawrence String Quartet. Upshaw in particular played an important role in bringing Bruce's music to wider attention.

His work Gumboots was commissioned by Carnegie Hall for clarinetist Todd Palmer and the St Lawrence String Quartet. His Groanbox was written for New York's Metropolis Ensemble featuring The Groanbox Boys. He wrote Caja de Musica for Concert Artists Guild Winner Bridget Kibbey's Carnegie Hall debut. Bruce's one-act opera A Bird in Your Ear (2008) was commissioned by Bard College and later had performances by New York City Opera as part of the 2009 Vox festival.

In 2011, another commission for Carnegie Hall, the octet Steampunk, was premiered by Ensemble ACJW at Skidmore College.

In 2012-13 Bruce was composer-in-residence with the Royal Opera House, who co-commissioned with Glyndebourne the opera Nothing, which premiered in Glyndebourne in February 2016. Bruce's chamber opera The Firework Maker's Daughter toured the UK and New York in 2013 and was shortlisted for both the British Composer Awards, and the 2014 Olivier Awards for Best New Opera Production. In the 2013/14 season Bruce was associate composer of the San Diego Symphony, for whom he wrote three pieces. In 2018, Bruce was commissioned by the BBC Proms to write Sidechaining a concerto for four soloists and orchestra.

In 2021 Bruce's first piece for choir and organ was commissioned by Well Cathedral for premiere in October 2021.

Works for Winds