Darklands Legends

From Wind Repertory Project
Randall Standridge

Randall Standridge

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: II+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Grand Mesa Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00


1. Dance of the Mad Prince – 2:20
2. The Serpent Priest and the Black Bell – 3:20
3. The Queen's Masque – 2:20


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Euphonium/Bassoon/Trombone II (optional)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Egg Shaker
  • Floor Tom
  • Marimba
  • Ratchet
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibra-slap
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In three movements, this suite for young band will capture the imaginations of your students and transport them to an amazing fantasy land of musical expression. It is designed to be played as a stand-alone suite, or for an even more expansive undertaking, as movements 2, 3, and 4 of the Darklands Symphony, along with Darklands March (1) and DarkHeart (5). Additionally, the movements can be played as separate, stand-alone pieces, and all are designed to be successful by groups with limited instrumentation or larger, complete ensembles. The entire Darklands Symphony stands alone as a major work for young band, and can easily be the highlight of young students’ band experience.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the Darklands Consortium, a collection of schools and directors, that supported this project.

- Program Note from score

The Darklands Symphony is a symphony for concert band composed by Randall D. Standridge. The five-movement symphony follows the heroic narrative of David as he journeys through the Darklands. While on his quest David stumbles upon a castle, Darkheart, where he meets each of the three central characters of the tale, one of whom happens to be the queen of the castle.

Every night, the Queen of Midnight (Queen Oscura) hosts her masquerades. Shadowy figures in masks waltz around the ballroom, faster and faster. Any soul unlucky enough to wander near into her dark entertainments will be trapped forever, dancing a dance which only stops at dawn, leaving the guests petrified as the queen retires. The waltz gradually accelerates and grows in instrumentation and fervor. The music begins to fade and the dancers begin to turn to stone once again, before a burst of magic frees David on the last note.

- Program Note from the North Shore Senior High School Wind Ensemble concert program, 22 December 2017


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works