Dark Cloud

From Wind Repertory Project
Ryan Main

Ryan Main

Subtitle: Oologah

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 4:45
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $70.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet I
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Concert Toms (4)
  • Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the Oologah, Oklahoma, High School Band under the direction of Jon Matthews, Dark Cloud is translated from the Cherokee Indian word "Oologah." At first brooding on the horizon, and later exploding with intensity, Dark Cloud represents an effort to capture the strife of a people battling unpredictable elements in a time before technology.

The inspiration for the composition is drawn from Native American musical influences as well as the imagery of a powerful and dramatic storm suddenly appearing and sweeping across th3e Midwestern plains.

- Program Note by composer


None discovered thus far.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


None discovered thus far.

Works for Winds by This Composer