Danzas Cubanas (arr. Bourgeois)

From Wind Repertory Project
Ignacio Cervantes

Ignacio Cervantes (arr. John R. Bourgeois)

General Info

Year: 1898? / 2016
Duration: c. 5:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano four-hands
Publisher: Wingert-Jones Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $90.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Claves
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Ignacio Cervantes (1847-1905) was a Cuban pianist and composer who is almost entirely unknown in the United States despite achieving fame and recognition in his native country of Cuba, as well as Latin America (Ernesto Lecuona was similarly well-known). Cervantes is most famous for his considerable influence in blending various aspects of creole musical culture with that of Cuban music for a totally unique and appealing style. In addition to a large number of piano works, he also composed a symphony, two operettas, an opera, chamber music, and various transcriptions.

I have chosen four of Cervantes's dances to include in my setting of Danzas Cubanas for wind band. They are Danzas No. 1 and 2, the melancholy Soledad, the lively Picatazos, and a reprise of Soledad (not distinguished in score).

In May of 2017, I premiered this work as the director of Cuban musicians from the National Band in Havana and American musicians from four leading American Universities, in the inaugural Cuba/U.S. Wind Band Symposium.

- Program Note adapted from John R. Bourgeois


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer