Danza Furiosa

From Wind Repertory Project
Luigi Zaninelli

Luigi Zaninelli

General Info

Year: 2009
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Productions
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00  |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Of all the dance forms I have come to love, the tarantella most intrigues me. It never ceases to draw me into its web. Danza Furiosa begins with low murmurs of sinister excitement. Brilliant flashes of melodic and harmonic color appear and disappear under the hypnotic magic of the tarantella rhythm. Moments of bitter sarcasm contrast unpredictably with periods of joyful abandon. With unbridled energy, the dance moves toward a finale of vibrant bravura and power.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Reinhardt University (Waleska, Ga.) Wind Ensemble (Kerry Bryant, conductor) - 27 September 2022
  • Northwest Missouri State University (Maryville) Wind Ensemble (John Bell, conductor) – 22 November 2019 (Nebraska Music Educators Association Conference/In-Service)

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works