Dancing to an Orange Drummer

From Wind Repertory Project
Vanessa Lann

Vanessa Lann

General Info

Year: 1994 / 2015
Duration: c. 5:40
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Big band
Publisher: Donemus Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts – Rental ((print) €78.16; (digital) - €39.08)   |   Score Only (print) - €49.35; (digital) - €24.67


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I
Flute II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Electric Bass
Electric Guitar Piano
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The title Dancing to an Orange Drummer comes from the expression "moving to the beat of a different drummer." The piece was inspired by the challenge of moving to a new country (in this case, the Netherlands), and for the composer this meant feeling, and enjoying, the very different beat and energy of new people, places and customs.

Lann uses two contrasting elements that gradually merge: simple melodies in the brass begin the work, against a repeated rhythmic pattern in the other instruments. The two groups do clash with each other, but eventually the brass instruments take over aspects of the rhythmic pattern, while the others imitate the brass melody. This climaxes in a new unity in orchestral sound by the end of the piece.

The original big band version of this work was written in 1993 for the Dutch ensemble De Ereprijs; the version for symphony orchestra was completed on request of the Boston Pops Orchestra on the occasion of their performance in May 2015 in Symphony Hall (Boston, USA).

- Program Note from publisher

Dedicated to Richard Lann and written for De Ereprijs.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Georgia (Athens) Hodgson Wind Ensemble (David Stanley, conductor) – 10 September 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer