Dance Suite (Praetorius)

From Wind Repertory Project
Michael Praetorius

Michael Praetorius (arr. David Marlatt)

Subtitle: From Terpsichore

General Info

Year: c. 1612 / 2017
Duration: c. 7:20
Difficulty: II-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Eighth Note Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00


1. Ballet des Coqs – 2:45
2. Bransle Double 3 – 1:45
3. Courante– 2:15
4. Volte – 1:35


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Terpsichore is a collection of over 300 instrumental dance pieces by Michael Praetorius. Similar to the Susato Danserye, there were no instruments specified on the score. As a result these pieces have been performed by many combinations of woodwind, brass and string instruments over the years Four of these short pieces have been selected and orchestrated here for winds and percussion. Different consorts or families of instruments have been featured to contrast each other in range, timbre, volume or character.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the Cedarville (Mich.) High School Band, Alan Jacobus, Director.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


  • University of Louisville Community Band (Jason Cumberledge, conductor) - 22 October 2018

To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist. August 2018, 23.
  • Perusal score