Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Dance Suite (Bernstein)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Leonard Bernstein

Leonard Bernstein

Subtitle: For Brass Quintet and Optional Percussion

General Info

Year: 1990
Duration: c. 5:15
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $35.00


1. Dancisca, for Anthony – 00:50
2. Waltz, for Agnes – 00:47
3. Bi-Tango, for Mischa – 00:42
4. Two-Step, for Mr. B. – 00:33
5. MTV, for Jerry – 2:06


Full Score
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Percussion, including:

  • Trapset (optional, or Drumset)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The final composition of the composer, written in 1989. Each of the five movements, Dancisca, Waltz, Bi-Tango, Two-Step and MTV, is dedicated to a choreographer-friend of the composer (Antony Tudor, Agnes DeMille, Mikhail Baryshnikov, George Balanchine, and Jerome Robbins). This is a vibrant work for brass quintet, and a significant contribution to the modern repertoire.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Boston (Mass.) Conservatory Wind Ensemble (Vimbayi Kaziboni, conductor) – 6 October 2018
  • All Saints Brass – 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Cool (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Murtha) (1957/2018)
  • West Side Story (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Sweeney) (1957/2015)

All Wind Works


  • Bernstein, L. (1990). Dance Suite : For Brass Quintet and Optional Percussion [score]. Boosey & Hawkes: London.