Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Dance I (de Meij)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Dmitri Shostakovich

Dmitri Shostakovich (arr. Johan de Meij)

Subtitle: From Jazz Suite No. 2

General Info

Year: 1938 / 1995
Duration: c. 3:05
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Jazz orchestra
Publisher: Amstel Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €127.00   |   Score Only (print) - €24.00


Full Score
Condensed Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III (3 players), including:

  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Xylophone



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Dance I is based on material from Shostakovich's score from The Gadfly (1955), and is a dramatic push to the finish line. From the outset there is little room to breathe, as the racing pace of the woodwinds is powerfully punctuated by brass and percussion. For all the push and rhythmic drive in this work, it is not a wall of sound pressing forward without permeability. Instead, this racing pace is accompanied by writing that never neglects melody and continues to surprise and captivate throughout the piece. For all the energy and fury bound up in the work, it is surprisingly delicate and full of an desperate vitality. While the work might be a whirling dervish of trumpets and percussion, the end is celebratory in its exhaustion, a rousing finish that causes the heart to pound and palms to sweat.

- Program Note by Rachel Maine for the Baylor University Wind Ensemble concert program, 12 February 2009

Dance I is the third movement from Johan de Meij's Jazz Suite No. 2, which in turn is an arrangement of Shostakovich's post-1956 Suite for Variety Orchestra.


State Ratings

  • North Carolina: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Waltz No. 2 (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Brown) (post 1956/2021)

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Shostakovich, D.; Meij, J. (1995). Dance I [score]. Amstel Music: Amsterdam, The Netherlands.