Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Cyprian Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Carol Barnett

Carol Barnett

General Info

Year: 2004
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $130.00   |   Score Only (print) - $14.95


1. Servikos - 2:38
2. Aya Marina - 4:45
3. Exomológhisis - 4:45
4. Agapis Tin - 5:28


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Claves
  • Glockenspiel
  • Guiro
  • Marimba
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (small, medium and large)
  • Tambourine (small)
  • Temple Blocks
  • Toms (high and low)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblock (high)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Cyprian Suite is one of a series of works written following a trip to Cyprus in 1999. Each of its four movements is based on a Cypriot folk song. The first, Servikos, is an instrumental dance in Serbian style, often played on the violin. In the second, Lullaby, a mother asks Saint Marina to take her baby to the world of sweet dreams and bring it safely back. She entrusts her baby to sleep, which will take her child and give it back to her grown up like a cypress tree, with branches extending from East to West. In the third, Exomológhisis, a man who had a lot of love affairs went to his priest to confess. The priest advised him to start a new life and stop having affairs. The man replied, “Father, if you deny the Holy Communion and the Divine Service, then I will deny love.” In the last song, the singer complains, “I loved her from the bottom of my heart, but she was indifferent, and I have suffered.”

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

  • Michigan: Senior High A
  • Mississippi: VI-A


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Calvin University (Grand Rapids, Mich.) Wind Ensemble (Tiffany Engle, conductor) - 12 November 2022
  • University of Illinois (Champaign) University Band (Michelle Bell, conductor) - 19 April 2022
  • Orquestra de Sopros da Escola Superior de Música de Lisboa (Portugal) (Alberto Roque, conductor) - 18 December 2019 (2019 Midwest Clinic)
  • Kansas Wesleyan University (Salina) Wind Ensemble (Carl T. Rowles, conductor) - 16 November 2019
  • William & Mary University (Williamsburg, Va.) Wind Ensemble (Richard Marcus, conductor) – 29 March 2019
  • University of Colorado Boulder Concert Band (Matthew Dockendorf, conductor) – 25 February 2019
  • Spartan Youth Wind Symphony - 8 December 2013

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Barnett, C. (2004). Cyprian Suite [score]. Boosey & Hawkes: New York.
  • Carol Barnett website Accessed 5 January 2017
  • The Horizon Leans Forward..., compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 254.