Courage March

From Wind Repertory Project
Henry Fillmore

Henry Fillmore (as Harold Bennett) (arr. Nick Contorno)

General Info

Year: 1919 / 2013
Duration: c. 2:15
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Daehn Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $60.00   |   Score Only - $6.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Bells


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Henry Fillmore wrote this gem in 1919, under the pseudonym of Harold Bennett. It's just one of many great pieces he has contributed to the band world, and this arrangement allows bands at all levels to perform and enjoy it. It's one of Fillmore's gifts to American music education!

-Program Note from publisher

Courage March by Henry Fillmore, arranged by Nicholas J. Contorno. was composed in 1919 by Fillmore under the pseudonym Harold Bennett. The work begins in Eb major and modulates to Ab major at the trio following traditional march form. Originally included in Book No. 3 from the then well-known Bennett Band Book Series, this new edition does not contain the technical demands of some of Fillmore’s better known marches such as His Honor, Men of Ohio, and Americans We, but does demonstrate his gift for creating interesting melodies and countermelodies. Introduce your musicians to this significant march master.

-Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Courage (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Clark) (1919/2003/2012)
  • His Honor March (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Clark) (1934/2014)

All Wind Works


  • Fillmore, H. (1919). Courage [score]. Fillmore Music House: [s.l.].
  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist,(Nov. 2013), p. 32.