Coronation Scene

From Wind Repertory Project
Modest Mussorgsky

Modest Mussorgsky (arr. and adapt. John Cacavas)

Subtitle: From Boris Godunov

General Info

Year: 1874 / 2005
Duration: c. 5:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: LudwigMasters Publications, through Keiser Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00


Full Score
Flute I-II (I doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Mussorgsky wrote two versions of Boris Godunov between 1868 and 1872, and the opera was rescored and revised by Rimsky-Korsakov after Mussorgsky's death. The drama is an intense and tragic story of a man tormented by his own mind. Boris has contrived the murder of the rightful heir to the throne and has proclaimed himself tsar. The coronation scene, one of the most brilliant and colorful scenes in the opera, takes place in the square fronting the Kremlin in Moscow. A great throng of people has gathered to hail Boris as their new tsar.

Boris appears in the middle of the coronation scene, and the ringing bells and shouting crowds falls silent. He is filled with a sense of doom, both for himself and his kingdom. He invokes God's blessing and asks the people to kneel in homage to the departed rulers of Russia. Once more they take up their cry of "Glory!" and the great bells of the cathedrals boom out as Boris proceeds to the royal apartments in the Kremlin.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band

Respectfully dedicated to Thomas Lee, Conductor, and the UCLA Wind Ensemble.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: III


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works