Copland Portrait, A

From Wind Repertory Project
Aaron Copland

Aaron Copland (adapt. Clare Grundman)

General Info

Year: 1986
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts - $115.00   |   Score - $15.50


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gourd
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Xylophone


  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I, m.178: Beat 1 rhythm should be 16th-16th-8th. Same as Clarinet's II & III.
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet III, m.250: Should be 3 8th notes. Same as Clarinet I & II.

Program Notes

A Copland Portrait is a collage of passages from works of Aaron Copland, created in 1985 to honor the eminent Brooklyn-born composer's 85th birthday. This adaptation enables concert band performers and their audiences to enjoy a varied sampling from the most popular music of one of America's most esteemed composers.

The work begins with a statement of Fanfare for the Common Man, a work for brass and percussion composed in 1942 to honor the role of the common man during World War II. Copland later used an altered version of this music as the introduction to the finale of his Third Symphony. Elements of both versions are found in this setting.

A passage from "Saturday Night Waltz" (from the ballet Rodeo) follows. Originally titled "The Courting at Burnt Ranch," Rodeo was created in collaboration with choreographer Agnes De Mille and commissioned by the Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo for its 1942-1943 season.

El Salon Mexico, subtitled "Popular Type Dance Hall in Mexico City," is represented by two passages. Based on Mexican folk tunes, this work was written after Copland's first visit to Mexico in 1932.

Next come several passages from one of Copland's most celebrated works, Appalachian Spring, a ballet composed for Martha Graham and commissioned by the Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge Foundation. Appalachian Spring was premiered by Miss Graham in 1944 and received the 1945 Pulitzer Prize for Music, as well as the Music Critics Circle Award for the 1944-1945 season.

The work concludes with music from two additional dance episodes from Rodeo: Buckaroo Holiday and Hoe-Down.

- Program Note by Clare Grundman


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Minnesota - Category I


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Central Lakes College (Brainerd, Minn.) Wind Symphony (Jonathan Laflamme, conductor) - 29 April 2022
  • Minneapolis (Minn.) South High School Wind Ensemble Eric Sayre, conductor) – 3 May 2018
  • Atascadero (Calif.) Community Band (Nathan Conrad, conductor) – 8 May 2016
  • Repasz Band (Williamsport, Penn.) (Albert Nacinovich, conductor) – 12 April 2016
  • Metropolitan Winds (Randol A. Bass, conductor) - 10 July 2011

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Copland, A.; Grundman, C. (1986). A Copland Portrait [score]. Boosey & Hawkes: U.S.A.