Continental Harp and Band Report, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Eric Stokes

Eric Stokes

Subtitle: An American Miscellany

General Info

Year: 1975
Duration: c. 42:25
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Horspfal Music Concern
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


1. Brooklyn Bridge
2. Cindy
3. No Deposit - No Return (Contrapunctus I a 4 voci)
4. Toccata (Captain John Smith, His Tucket)
5. Watergate Galop
6. A Shopping Center, Xmas Eve (Contrapunctus III a tutti voci)
7. Revolution: American Birthwright, a Bicentennial Meditation (Contrapunctus IV a voci interrotti)
8. Off Paumanok: The Jacob's Ladders (Contrapunctus II a 14 voci)
9. The Triumph of Time


Flute I-II-III-IV-V (III-IV doubling Piccolos, V doubling Alto Flute)
English Horn
Bassoon I-II-III
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III (III doubling E flat Clarinet)
Bass Clarinet (doubling Soprano Saxophone)
Tenor Sax
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III (I doubling Piccolo Trumpet in C, I-II doubling Flugelhorns, III doubling Cornet)
C Bass Trumpet
Horn in F I-II-III-IV (all doubling Tuben, I-II in B flat and III-IV in F)
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone)
Keyboards (Piano, Celeste, and Electric Organ)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Cabasa
  • Cash Register (with crank and bell)
  • Chimes
  • Congas
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gongs (9)
  • Guiro
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (large)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks (5)
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-Toms (4)
  • Trap Set
  • Triangles (large and small)
  • Vibraphone
  • Washboard
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Stokes’s The Continental Harp and Band Report: An American Miscellany is a moving and thoughtful commentary on life in America. Composed in 1974–75 to fulfill a commission by Stanislaw Skrowaczewski and the Minnesota Orchestra, the work is comprised of nine movements that individually explore “place” within the American landscape, 1970s politics and political commentary, commercialism, and imagery in literature and art. When Stokes was in his early thirties, he discovered an American composer who would influence his compositions for the remainder of his life, Charles Ives.

- Program Note by Christopher Morehouse

Nine movements that can be played in almost any order, with the exception being that The Triumph of Time must always be the final movement when it is included in any selection.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer