Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Connection (Navarro)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Oscar Navarro

Oscar Navarro (trans. by composer)

Subtitle: Concerto for French Horn and Symphony Orchestra

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 26:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Oscar Navarro
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €250.00


Full Score
Solo Horn in F
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crécelle
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A connection with the public is one of the main reasons why a work remains alive. Music has the ability to enter the soul of the listener, to make him or her feel different sensations and to remove certain feelings.

This is one of the goals and challenges of my music, and in this case, one of the aims of this work, Connection, Concerto for Horn and Symphony Orchestra. The main feature of the work is the variety in the musical discourse. From my point of view, each day it is more necessary to captivate the attention and create a direct connection with the listener, making the musical message reach the listener via the solo instrument, the horn.

Mystery, anger, complicity, humor or passion are part of the main aesthetic ingredients used in this new concerto, whose purpose is to immerse the listener in the work through a fusion of styles and a varied harmonic language. The orchestration is very colorful, always leaving the necessary space for the soloist to be the central axis of the work, which maintains a constant dialogue with the rest of the Symphony Orchestra throughout the work.

Connection is conceived as a concerto in a single movement without pauses, divided into a great mysterious introduction, followed by four different sections, which have the character of a march, scherzando, a slow and a grand finale. It is truly important to delve into each of the four sections of the work in order to make a stylistic difference between them, necessary to avoid the disconnection of the listener.

- Program Note by composer

This piece was commissioned by the National Institute of performing Arts and Music (INAEM), for the Spanish National Orchestra and Choir (OCNE) for its premier in April 2019. For Salvador Navarro.

- Program Note from score


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer