From Wind Repertory Project
Clifton Taylor

Clifton Taylor

Subtitle: For Marimba and Wind Ensemble

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 9:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Tapspace Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $90.00; (digital) - $81.00   |   Score Only (print) - $23.00; (digital) - $23.00


Full Score
Solo Marimba (5.0 octaves (optional 4.3 octaves))
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (I div. a2)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II (both div. a2)
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II (both div. a2)
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-VII (7 players), including:

  • Bass Drum (pedal)
  • Congas (2)
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Hi-hat
  • Marimba (4.3 octaves)
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Shakers
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Clifton Taylor’s Concertpiece for marimba and wind ensemble is an exciting and upbeat concerto for solo marimba with wind ensemble accompaniment. Largely in 6/8 and 3/4 time, the musical material of the piece is mostly motivic, with various opportunities for the marimba soloist to showcase their abilities. Stylistically, the piece has a fusion/pop style, taking its influences from the music of The Pat Metheny Group.

The solo part is appropriate for an advanced undergraduate or faculty member, while the ensemble parts are playable by a high school band and can be easily put together, making it accessible to a wide variety of both school and university programs. It contains the technical complexity admired by soloists with an overall sound and feel that will be accessible to the general public.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned in 2016 by a consortium led by Jason Baker. Dedicated to Jason Baker.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Northwestern State University (Natchitoches, La.) Magale Concert Band (Dan McDonald, conductor) – 17 April 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Perusal score
  • Taylor, C.; Baker, J. (2018). Concertpiece: for marimba and wind ensemble [score]. Tapspace: [Portland, Or.]