Concerto for Wind Orchestra (Koh)

From Wind Repertory Project
Chang-Su Koh

Chang Su Koh

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 28:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) – Rental ($500.00)   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


1. Maestoso - 2:50
2. Pregando - 5:00
3. Scherzoso - 4:45
4. Affetuoso – 5:25
5. Festivo – 8:45


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II (II doubling Alto Flute in G)
Oboe I-II (II doubling English horn in F)
Bassoon I-II (II doubling Contra-bassoon)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Koh writes of his work:

The work is made up of five movements, which use a large soundscape of almost every available wind instrument. I consider the work to be a concerto for wind symphony created in the mold of Bartók and Lutosławski.

The piece features each instrument to its fullest potential. Because the movements are intertwined and share material, there is a complex connection throughout which creates a strong sense of organic unity.

Maestoso, the first movement, is a fanfare that relies primarily on the brass to introduce the piece in a powerful and festive manner.

Pregando, the second movement, is a prayer which uses two motifs, the first played by the alto flute representing the magical sounds of the East, and the second played by the horn embodying the austere tones of the West. This material plays an important role throughout the work.

Scherzoso, the third movement, has a dance-like quality as well as a march character and serves as a matrix for other constructs.

Affettuoso, the fourth movement, has the subtitle “with much love.” It is the most romantic of the set and provides an opportunity for the featured woodwind instruments to sing to their fullest.

Festivo, the fifth and final movement, is a convergence of all the other movements. It acts as a summary of what has come before and relies heavily on variation.

- Program Note from University of North Texas Wind Symphony concert program, 19 September 2019


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Brett Penshorn, personal correspondence, September 2019
  • George, Matthew. "Concerto for Wind Ensemble." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 12, Compiled and edited by Andrew Trachsel, 925-934. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2021.
  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 375.