Concerto for Trumpet and Wind Orchestra

From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Rodney Bennett

Richard Rodney Bennett

General Info

Year: 1993
Duration: c. 20:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Chester Novello
Cost: Score and Parts - £90.00   


1. Declamato - Allegro - Presto
2. Elegy for Miles Davis - 10:30
3. Vivo


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Tuba I-II
Electric Bass
Piano Timpani
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos (3)
  • Chimes
  • Chinese Blocks (4)
  • Crotales
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (3)
  • Timbales (3)
  • Triangle
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Trumpet Concerto was written in New York between April and June 1993 and is dedicated to Timothy Reynish. The work begins with a solemn declamatory 3/2 cadenza for the soloist; a short orchestral interlude leads to a 3/4 allegro, the pulse twice that of the cadenza, with spiky cross-rhythms alternating with the declamatory passage, followed by a faster 6/8.

A further cadenza ends the movement, and links to the second. This has the subtitle Elegy for Miles Davis, a deeply felt ballad accompanied by electric bass and band, with a central section with scope for improvisation. The ensuing vivo, 2/2, starts with a bold statement by the trumpet, its cross rhythms reminiscent of the opening allegro; an extended development of this for the orchestra is interrupted by the declamatory cadenza material, the solo trumpet supported by his colleagues in the orchestra, and the movement ends with a molto vivo coda of tremendous energy. The scoring is for wind ensemble with piano and harp.

- Program note by publisher

Commissioned by Timothy Reynish for Martin Winter and the RNCM Wind Orchestra, world premiere at BASBWE Conference, 17th September 1993.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer