Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Trombone and Concert Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Derek Bourgeois

Derek Bourgeois

This work bears the designation Opus 114b.

General Info

Year: 1989
Duration: c. 20:10
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G & M Brand
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $225.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


1. Allegro – 8:55
2. Adagio – 6:10
3. Presto – 5:15


Full Score
Solo Trombone
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Whip


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The first movement of Derek Bourgeois' Concerto for Trombone and Concert Band is constructed classically: the solo trombone immediately launches into the opening theme in F minor, conceived harmonically in a sequence of descending thirds, and it is the solo trombone that introduces the second lyrical theme, in A-flat, presented over chords which are given mobility by dark-toned alto and bass clarinets.

These contrasting subjects give the composer ample opportunity to let loose his fertile imagination, whether expanding on the Baroque qualities of the opening material in a fugato section for woodwinds, or boldly stating the romantic second theme on brass leading to cascading septuplets, or with the soloist presenting the first theme in augmentation against a ripple of semi-quavers.

After this development, there is virtually a formal recapitulation in the woodwinds, and the soloist repeats the second theme in tonic (F Major). The movement closes with pianissimo chords -- no great bravura here, but leading us in mood to the second movement which opens a tone lower in E-flat.

Here, the rich tone of the soloist is matched by three accompanying trombones -- with the writing matching the expressiveness of a cello quartet. Gradually the rest of the low brass join as the solo trombone weaves a seamless, almost Wagnerian theme, extending phrases sequentially. This movement has two separate thoughts, and a solo clarinet answers the solo trombone with a new theme accompanied by three horns, euphonium and pizzicato string bass.

Whilst most of the slow movement is contemplative, Bourgeois allows the band to unleash the full fortissimo passion implied in the second theme, clarinet theme, before the movement closes as it began -- but this time only two trombones accompany the soloist, and all three are muted.

After the passion of the slow movement, Bourgeois adopts a classical rondo form as a 6/8 Scherzo, marked Presto, which gives the release we need. It is fun, to be thrown off lightly as we enjoy the semitone shifts with a wry smile. Towards the end of the movement is a cadenza which alludes to the thematic content of the first movement, but aurally the hard work has been done. For the soloist, however, the music requires a virtuoso combination of slide and tongue.

Derek Bourgeois' Concerto for Trombone and Concert Band was commissioned by the British Trombone Society for the International Trombone Workshop at Eaton, England, July 1989, with gratefully acknowledged assistance from Southern Arts. The world premiere was given by Christian Lindberg.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge) Wind Ensemble (Damon Talley, conductor; John Ingram, trombone) - 3 May 2022
  • West Chester University (Penn.) Wind Symphony (M. Gregory Martin, conductor; Kevin D. Sheetz, trombone) - 28 February 2021
  • Georgia College (Milledgeville) Wind Symphony (Cliff Towner, conductor; Madison Graham, trombone) – 5 March 2020
  • Brock University (St. Catharines, Ont.) Wind Ensemble (Zoltan Kalman, conductor) – 4 December 2018
  • Oklahoma State University (Stillwater) Wind Ensemble (Joseph Missal, conductor; Hiram Diaz, euphonium) – 16 November 2017
  • Denis Wick Canadian Wind Orchestra (Gillian MacKay, conductor; Alain Trudel, trombone) - 13 May 2016
  • Lawrence University (Appleton, Wisc.) Wind Ensemble (Andrew Mast, conductor; Nick Keelan, trombone) – 11 March 2016
  • Ouachita Baptist University (Arkadelphia, Ark.) Wind Ensemble (Craig V. Hamilton, conductor; Jason Potts, trombone) – 10 March 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Serenade (Flex instrumentation) (adapt. Brand) (1965/1980/2020)

All Wind Works


  • Bourgeois, D. (1989). Trombone Concerto: op. 114b [score]. G.&M. Brand: [England].
  • Perusal score