Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Three Trombones

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Derek Bourgeois

Derek Bourgeois

General Info

Year: 1977 / 2004
Duration: c. 22:00
Difficulty: VII (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Warwick Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - ₤75.00


1. Allegro moderato – Molto pesante
2. Andante maestoso
3. Presto feroce


Full Score
Solo Trombone Trio (TTB)
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Derek Bourgeois is no stranger to the trombone community, having written a famous concerto and sonata for the instrument. This concerto for Three Trombones is an incredible showcase for the instrument. The writing is typical of Bourgeois, finding twisty technical lines interspersed with beautiful and powerful melodies.

The original composition was entitled Concerto for Three Trombones with Strings and Percussion.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Serenade (Flex instrumentation) (adapt. Brand) (1965/1980/2020)

All Wind Works