Concerto for Piccolo Trumpet

From Wind Repertory Project
James Stephenson

James Stephenson

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 17:05
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Stephenson Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $300.00


1. Maestoso vivant - 6:15
2. Adagio semplice - 5:32
3. Allegro-Spirito - 4:15


Full Score
Solo Piccolo Trumpet
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (III doubles Bass Clarinet)
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Slap Stick
  • Snare Drum (2)
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks (3)
  • Tom-tom (4)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblock
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In early 2015, I was approached by Joshua Ganger - then a doctoral trumpet candidate at Michigan State University - to compose a concerto for piccolo trumpet and wind ensemble. The commission would serve as his dissertation for his doctoral degree.

The commission is unique in several ways: first, that it is the brainchild of a college student; second, that it is a modern concerto for the piccolo trumpet (an instrument most known for its florid use in the Baroque era); and third, that it would be accompanied by a wind ensemble (as opposed to a chamber orchestra, it's usual setting).

Lastly - he specified that the piece be suitable for players like him; in other words, college students (or above). Therefore, to differentiate this concerto from its Baroque predecessors, I set out to write music that is distinctly American, and current. This can be heard in the use of several bold intervals - 4ths and 5ths - which are common to the bravura of a trumpet, and also with the use of jazz harmonies and sensibilities. My main focus was to write fun music to play, while allowing for beautiful expression in the slow movement. In this way, the concerto also pays homage to those concertos of centuries ago, many of which I learned myself as a young trumpeter (prior to my switch to full-time composing).

The concerto is in three movements, fast-slow-fast, and is roughly 15 minutes long.

My most sincere thank you to Josh, for hatching this most enjoyable plan, and to those who helped support his vision to have this piece composed.

- Program Note by Jim Stephenson


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works