Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Concerto for Piano and Wind Ensemble (Galbraith)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Nancy Galbraith

Nancy Galbraith

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 21:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Subito Music
Cost: Score and Parts – Rental   |   Score Only (print) - $50.00


1. Movement I – 7:50
2. Movement II – 6:55
3. Movement III – 7:30


Full Score
Solo Piano
Flute I-II-III (III doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongo
  • Castanet
  • Claves
  • Conga
  • Cowbell
  • Glass Wind Chime
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Slap Stick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Block
  • Timbales
  • Tom-tom
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Movement I begins softly with a rhythmic ostinato line in the bass clarinet, bassoon, and contrabass. As this ostinato repeats, rhythmic ideas are gradually layered to create a ground over which the main melodic idea of the movement appears in the piano. This melody is repeated and transformed many times as the music slowly builds to a grand climax. A return to another ostinato, this time in quarter notes, follows and moves into a quiet, slower, and more lyrical section in the woodwinds. This section leads to a piano solo followed by a return to the quarter note ostinato, which closes the movement.

After a calm pastoral atmosphere is established in the opening of Movement II, a sweet but somewhat mournful melody arises in the piano. Webs of impressionistic texture follow in both the piano and woodwinds, which eventually lead to a resounding climax in the winds. The piano then presents the main theme again, this time building to its own climactic statement. The movement ends quietly as it began.

Movement III is fast and energetic. The opening woodwind texture introduces a triplet note figure. The soft piano figure that follows employs this triplet figure, and serves as accompaniment for thematic statements in the woodwinds. The movement concludes with a return to the opening forte piano theme, and a cadenza for piano, accompanied by percussion.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Washington (Seattle) Wind Ensemble (Timothy Salzman, conductor) - 27 April 2023
  • Slippery Rock (Penn.) University Wind Ensemble (James Berry, conductor; Nanette Kaplan Solomon, piano) – 6 May 2001 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Galbraith, N. (2002). Concerto for Piano & Wind Ensemble [score]. Subito Music Publishing: [Verona, N.J.].
  • The Horizon Leans Forward..., compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 329.
  • Nancy Galbraith website – Accessed 20 January 2021
  • Perusal score