Concerto for Piano, Winds, and Percussion (Maslanka)

From Wind Repertory Project
David Maslanka

David Maslanka

This work was retroactively designated Concerto No. 1.

General Info

Year: 1976
Duration: 20:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental


1. Moderate, with heavy energy - 8:43
2. Slow‐Dance fantasy - 8:00
3. Fast, aggressive - 6:47


Full Score
Solo Piano
Flute I-II (II doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II (II doubling English Horn)
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Electric Organ
Percussion (3 players), including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Ratchet
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (2: small and large)
  • Tam-tam (2: small and large)
  • Temple Blocks (2)
  • Tom-tom (3)
  • Triangle
  • Woodblock (3)
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A concerto in three movements written for piano and an ensemble of orchestral winds, brass, percussion, and electric organ (no saxophone or euphonium).

This Concerto, written between 1974 and 1976, was my first composition for wind ensemble. It was prompted in part by my DUO for flute and piano (1972), which was written for flutist Leone Buyse and pianist Joseph Dechario. Although he never played the concerto, Dechario’s performance work on the extremely demanding DUO inspired the concerto’s piano part.

This first piano concerto is an explosion contained in a classical form, and showed the nascent tendency in my music for both an objective formal process and a blossoming fantasy. Elements of extreme post-tonal violence are side by side with a sweet tunefulness and a gentle irony.

-Program Note by David Maslanka


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


None discovered thus far.

Works for Winds by This Composer